Medical School

What if you don’t get into medical school…

 

one-does-not.jpg

If you truly want to become a physician, whatever your reasons may be. You can do it.

Becoming a physician is NOT a race. & I repeat. Becoming a physician is NOT a race.

Yes, it’s annoying when you see your friends go through medical school and residency. Yes, it’s annoying when you feel like you are so far behind. Then you ask yourself, why you can’t be there with them? Trust me, I have been there. And you won’t get far moping and whining. Done moping and whining? Let’s move forward!

The process of getting into medical school is a learning process. You learn so much about yourself — mentally and physically. So don’t be too hard on yourself! We are only human!

If I don’t get into medical school with my first attempt,  I plan to re-evaluate my application and go from there.

My recommendations include (Which I’m doing now!!):

#1 Call or make an appointment with medical school advisor

This is your chance to ask the committee yourself, what is missing in your application? How can you strengthen your application for the upcoming cycle? Even though your medical school/physician friends will offer well-intended advice, the experts know best since after all they are the ones looking at your application.

#2 Volunteer

This might sound cliche. But volunteer smarter. Volunteer your time with something you are passionate about and not just an ‘I’m volunteering because I want an extra volunteer story in my updated application.’ The committee can see when you volunteer to just volunteer or when you are giving your free time to something that interests you and where you are growing from it. Make your time worthwhile, because you deserve it!

#3 Work

Just because you want to become a physician in the future does not mean you have to work in the medical field while you wait for your acceptance. You’ll have the rest of your life to work in the clinical office, emergency department, OR…etc. Take a dip into other positions where one day you can connect with non-medical personnel!

#4 Special Masters Program for Pre-Health students

There’s a handful of special masters program (SMP) out there where you can increase your chances of getting into medical school if you perform well. Some programs have guaranteed interviews if you get X.XX GPA and XXX on your MCAT. Do your research!  These programs are hell-o tough (&& expensive), but if you work hard it’ll help your chances of getting into school.

Just sharing a few of my tips that I will be looking into in the next couple months! I’d love to hear any other tips you may have!!

Happy Monday!!

Nhung

image was taken from Google

 

Leave a comment