Uncategorized

I’m dating a med student…

unnamed.jpg

…and he’s just like everyone else!

The boyfriend and I are both nontraditional, premed students (technically, he was a nontraditional premed and now an M1 #proudgirlfriend 🙂  )that met during a post bacc program. We have been dating for two years (!) now and fortunately, everything thus far seems doable.

I work at the teaching hospital in town where he goes to medical school and his classes are literally right next door. We see each other daily; before class/work where I usually scoop him up from his apartment, during lunchtime and after work where he picks me up since his class ends at noon most of the time (for the first year) — which is such a timesaver!
Catching the bus to where my car is parked takes AT LEAST 30 minutes. Oy vey.

unnamed-1.jpgWe have nothing but respect for each other. When he has a test coming up, I usually like to give him some space and time so he can focus on his test. I’d make lunches for us that week since we all know every minute counts during crunch time! I confess, sometimes I bother him with motivational texts and surprise hugs! + coffee! + dinner if I’m still on campus. I think he likes that? I hope he does. lol.

He does the same for me. He knows when I need to spend time studying for the MCAT. He’ll give me space and says ‘hi’ during my study breaks. Sometimes we’ll study together 🙂

People always talk about how difficult dating a medical student is, but honestly, it is up to the two people in the relationship. The boyfriend and I have an open communication and I believe that’s what works for us. Don’t be so demanding of someone’s time when they’re trying to work on their career! (My relationship advice: If something is bothering you about your significant other, talk about it! Don’t bottle your feelings up just to let it explode later on!

Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 9.54.56 PM.png

I am applying this coming cycle and would love to stay in town but I have to be realistic about the possibility not getting into the same medical school. Nothing is guaranteed. We talked about our future  (where I might go to medical school, residency, fellowship, travel plans, babies?!, etc). We are committed to each other and willing to make it work. You just have to build a strong foundation and believe in one another.

Not a lot of people are fortunate as us to have a relationship so close, and I admire those who have long distance relationships. Stay strong, the end is all worth it!! (positive vibes!) Who knows, I might have a long distance relationship when I start school/if he lands a residency elsewhere!

I’d love to answer any questions related to dating, being a nontraditional premed, medical school application…or if you just like to chat! Comment down below or send me an email! sequinsandstethoscopes@gmail.com

Sidenote: I meant to say that the open communication is 99% true, the boyfriend has no clue that I started a blog! Hehe. So if you have any questions on his end, I will ask him randomly. He’ll just think I am being me since I am forever asking him random questions!

xoxo,

Nhung

p.s. This list. lol.

Leave a Reply

