Medical School

study schedule.

I have a full-time job where I work 0700-1530 M-F. Luckily, sometimes my work allows me to study in between patients! Here’s a glimpse a nontraditional premed’s ‘day in my life’ timeline (on a good day):

0525: First alarm. Time to wake up! Kind of.

0535: Second alarm. The real wake up (the 10 extra minutes really does make a difference!)! Who doesn’t mind sleeping in for a little bit more?!

0615: Hopefully, I’m out the door and heading to the city. The commute from my house to work is about 15-20 minutes on a good day but with traffic, it can take up to 45 minutes to an hour!!

0645: Picking up the boyfriend at his apt so he’s not late for class!! hehe. My boyfriend is a first year in medical school and has classes one building away from where I work. So convenient for now! (I hope I end up at the same medical school but will go anywhere that takes me!!)

0700-1530: Work (I do squeeze some studying in between patients depending on the day — sometimes I can study for a couple hours during work and other times, half an hour! It’s all about time management!!). I either read a short chapter, review my notes or do flashcards in between patients instead of just browsing the internet or talking to coworkers!

1530-1630: I like to give myself a break and give my a little bit of me time! Don’t forget to take a break! Since I work at a teaching hospital and is surrounded by study rooms, I usually head to the study spaces after work.

1630-2100: study time (along with mini 5-minute breaks including dinner!). As of right now, I either review my notes, do questions, take a timed section, etc. etc.

2100: Home-bound, relax and sleep!

April 28th, I’ll be ready for you!!

xoxo,

Nhung

Leave a Reply

